Anne Squared

Life filtered through the lens of an INTJ, Mom, and healthcare professional.

Growing up Catholic

Eight kids in 12 years, the last two are boys. I attended a parochial grade school, in the same class as my older sister, we are that close in age. “Irish Twins” are fairly common in large Catholic families. Mass several times a week with school, Sundays, of course. Holy days of obligation.

The nuns wore the dark long habits with the large dark rosary beads, heads covered, when I started 1st grade. By the time I left 8th grade, they transitioned to “normal” clothing – conservative, polyester. Nothing my mom or her friends would wear, but it took away some of the fierceness of the nuns. I was a “good girl” and did little to warrant their wrath. But there was an incident or two, looking back, that I now realize occurred or didn’t occur, most likely because my father was a major donor to the church and school.

I cannot help but wonder what would have happened if events were left to run their course. I look at my classmates from our very small school and see what happened to them.

“Bless me father for…”

I learned very early that the sins of a child are not the ones that need to be confessed…ImageImage

Categories: Lions, Tigers and Catholics, Oh my.

Tags: , , , ,

7 replies

  1. Growing Catholic, a great title.:) There exists a common bond to all those who grew up Catholic, a type of survivorship if you will. That has been my experience at least. 🙂

  2. Hey! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m definitely enjoying
    your blog and look forward to new posts.

  3. Great Post Thanx.I really enjoyed reading that was worth the time.

Thoughts, ideas, questions? - Love to know what is on your mind!

