Anne Squared

Life filtered through the lens of an INTJ, Mom, and healthcare professional.

I’ll Take Four Burgers And A Heart Attack, Please

http://carrierubin.com/2013/02/18/ill-take-four-burgers-and-a-heart-attack-please/

The cat’s out of the bag – Yes, I am in Public Health. Not just one niche, but all of them. I think that is why I like it so much – I can master one specialty and learn the next.  The above link is to a very interesting blog by a very interesting blogger – go ahead and take a look!

Her blog “I’ll Take Four Burgers And A Heart Attack, Please” brings to mind the time my daughter was around 8 and we had spent most of the day in very rural Iowa on a consulting job. Normally people are very friendly and we would have been offered lunch, but this nicety was overlooked by the host – probably because I finally declined to work with him on his overseas project. (His idea of public health was not sitting well with mine.)

We drove for an hour and I stopped at the first available place that sold food – a McDonald’s. My children rarely ate fast food, and in fact, didn’t really care for it, but since I was hypoglycemic and Susan was famished, we went into eat. As we were sitting eating, her normal stream of chatter came to a stop. I looked up to see if she was alright.

She looked at me, looked around, looked back at me and said “Mom, someone super-sized Iowa!”

How does that not beg for a discussion on portion size and HFCS? Additives in the food chain?

No offense to Iowa, we were just off the Interstate. The link to Carrie’s article above has some excellent links to other resources on public health and, I believe, nutrition. This was the story that kept popping in my head when I thought about those burgers…
no one runs

Categories: INTJ and INTP

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Yeah, the things kids say. 🙂 Hmm…

  2. Out of the mouths of babes, no? I share her incredulousness, that’s for sure.

    Thanks so much for the blog share and mention! I appreciate that. 🙂

Thoughts, ideas, questions? - Love to know what is on your mind!

