Anne Squared

Life filtered through the lens of an INTJ, Mom, and healthcare professional.

What is INTJ (or Where Does INTJ Come From?)

The acronym is a Myers-Briggs Personality Instrument Type.

I will save the interpretation of INTJ – because it really depends on who administers which version of the test. Most people take an online version based on the original Myers-Briggs Personality Instrument developed by Katharine Cook Briggs  and her daughter, Isabel Briggs Myers which is based on Carl  Jung’s typological theory:  sensation, intuition, feeling, and thinking.

The online tests are easy to find but I can’t attest to the accuracy or validity of the test results or the interpretation of the results.  http://www.16personalities.com/  You can google for other test sites.

Image

http://www.myersbriggs.org/ is the site that can refer you to a professional or organization that will utilize versions of the MBTI which have undergone futher development and testing, and are considered to be both accurate and reliable when used with proper interpretation and training. I have had V2 and V3 in a corporate leadership capacity and in a graduate leadership class, respectively. The goal was not to provide critique and/or analysis, but assist in developing communication styles, identifying communication styles of others, so as a leader you could recognize someone else’s style and flex your response/approach to that person. It only gets more complicated from here. Our profile pages were 40 pages long. It gets very complex. I have not taken classes in this specialty.

The INTJ – There are very few women who are INTJ personality types – about 1%- if you average what you read in the literature. You will find them seeking each other out, the internet is a good gathering place.

And INTP women are rare also. I flex between the two depending on the situation. Those are my preferred preferences.

Hopefully that provides enough information and resources for people you want to learn more. My preferred preference, as opposed to this small blog, is to write a formal dissertation outlining the development of the MBTI and assessing the validity, reliability, and how it has impacted our society – but that is just my INTP wandering off while I wrap up this post. 🙂

Categories: INTJ and INTP

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

12 replies

  1. Well it’s not really about the particular letters, but rather the interaction of the letters into how you gather data via sensory information and then replicate the data as information. ( Though on this latter part I don’t think the MBT is a very good gauge. Jung was a bit off, admittedly.)

    I think INTJ is – in general – the 1%. Even amongst males, though it has been a long time since I’ve cared about statistics. I’ve learned the probability of improbability, by causality is more likely than not. My former roomate was an INTJ – he was also narcoleptic like me.

    I took a stab to figure out the statistical probability of that, it was 1 in 1.2 billion.

    In my immediate friend circle I have three other INTJ friends. Granted i’m the only one who has an acute sense for the arts, but they all do have relatively good taste in that area just not as developed.

    Probability of improbability.

    • As mentioned above, Jung’s theory was used to launch the MBTI – which has been defined and refined by a number of researchers. Used properly, it can be a very useful tool – not a definer of who you are. Though I admit, when stressed, my default is back to the “letters”.
      I seem to recall Jung more identified with the “collective unconscious” – do I have my theorists mixed up or am I really dating myself?

      • You are correct – collective unconscious. I’m on the fence – I am not necessarily a firm believer in a collective unconscious as Jung spoke, but in terms of how where things arise – I am a firm believer in what I call the ” Infinity Loop.” Broadly speaking it’s an explanation that offers rational for the simultaneous existences of separate realities. ( By my own thoughts, each human is a set of realities and contextually the reason we have issues is because we are broken mirrors that abstractly reflect what we should have been rather than what we are….. I blame Escher for this. I suppose I could blame my religious upbringing too – in the same I could blame the pizza I had for dinner too though…..

  2. I agree, when the 3.1 million is mixed amongst the remainder of the population it is no wonder we seem few and far between. I have met more online than anywhere ever. In fact, I think INTP/INTJ have the most active forums on the internet, with the most members on these forums compared to the other 16 personality types. I think it is because we seem the most interested in understanding personality types, that is my experience anyway.

    • I think you hit the nail on the head – delving into learn more about the topic! The first time I was “typed” I was the only INTJ manager in a corporation of extroverts, mainly men. The consulting company treated me like a rare specimen uncovered on an archeological site. How did I ever succeed and become successful in that environment. Well, duh – I watched, listened, learned, then lead. The biggest mistake – and this I really need to drive home – is that I was told that likely never find someone to “partner” with. That was misinterpretation of the test and misuse of the test – what we see and read on the internet – the most basic interpretation of our personality type.
      Charcoalblue, have you had the testing done other than the internet?

      • Yes (INTP), years ago and it was also for work. It was my first introduction to this instrument then I studied it further whilst studying psychology. It is unfortunate when results are used to say what someone can’t do. These tests are designed to help us understand preferences, not limit people. I’m positive Carl Jung would not have been happy to hear of your experience. Like you say, it is an extremely complex interpretation of personality so misuse is bound to happen. On the bright side, the internet is helping people learn type and letting it become part of our vernacular which is better than not at all. Actually, I can’t seem to understand why people wouldn’t want to know their type … just baffles me but I guess that’s an INTP thing, the need to understand just takes flight.

  3. Thanks for adding your comments. You must have calculated on the world population because using US population for 2012 it would be 3.1 million INTJ females.
    Yes, that seems like a lot, but if you mix them into 31 million people (US population) especially given the professions of choice – more likely to find little “clusters.” (just a thought.)
    I understand what you are saying, but I wouldn’t call it an illusion. Is it an “illusion” to stand in rural Nebraska and call the squalid overcrowding of Bangladesh an illusion?

  4. I flex between the two as well – being a parent has made me more of a j. I was thinking the other day about the rarity of types and it is a bit of an illusion. 1% of the female population is still about 35 million!!

  5. Thanks for stopping by 🙂 … Yes, the INTJ/Ps are not hanging out at the parties, or if we are at one, chances are we are the only one in the room. I think that the quest for knowledge and research draw us online, many with the same area of interest (due to choice of profession.) I think, also, by default, it is a natural way to run into each other, given the personality traits.

  6. It’s funny with the whole INTJ thing because on the internet I run across tons of them. I mean, really it seems like EVERYONE is either INTJ or INTP. I guess it’s because of the sites I’m drawn to; maybe all the extroverts are all living on facebook 24/7, lol! Anyway, both my husband & I test as INTJ as well.

  7. I’ve taken the Myers-Briggs twice, several years apart, and I was an INTJ both times. Guess I’m in the 1%. I can live with that. 🙂

    • Yes, I test into INTJ but have a low score on the J and have learned to recognize when I cross into the realm of INTP-ness. And that tends to do with the need for perfectionism in myself, not wanting to make mistakes, dealing with stress – so being aware of these “coping” mechanisms are good, imo. If I am acting on behalf of someone else, I do not move out of J mode.
      Thank goodness I score WNL for the MMPI 😉

Thoughts, ideas, questions? - Love to know what is on your mind!

