Anne Squared

Life filtered through the lens of an INTJ, Mom, and healthcare professional.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Culture – Why My Children Put Me on Facebook Probation

I awaited their teen years, ready to be ignored and denied. But it never happened. I did everything possible to encourage the proper developmental separation which leads to being commanded to “stay away” and “leave me alone.” But “my heart” and “my soul” moved through the teen years, immune to my antics, always wanting me at functions and meeting their friends.

Recently, however, I was restricted by both from posting to their Facebook pages because of:  Art, Science, Culture!

Public domain: CDC/ Janice Haney Carr, 2009

This digitally-colorized scanning electron micrograph (SEM) of an untreated water specimen extracted from a wild stream mainly used to control flooding during inclement weather, revealed the presence of unidentified organisms, which included bacteria, protozoa, and algae. In this particular view, a microorganism is featured, the exterior of which is covered by numerous projections imparting an appearance of a sea urchin. This microscopic “pin cushion” was tethered to its surroundings by a biofilm within which many bacteria, and amoeboid protozoa could be seen enmeshed as well. Public domain: CDC/ Janice Haney Carr, 2009

Though many organisms found in untreated waters are harmless, there are many that are pathogenic to both humans and animals, including Giardia spp., free-living amebae, and E. coli just to name a few. During power outages, the functionality of treated water systems can be negatively affected, thereby, violating the patency of these closed systems. In these instances, advisories may be posted, encouraging inhabitants of these regions to boil their water tap water in order to kill off any pathogenic organisms that may have entered the system due to an intrasystemic drop in positive pressure. Public Domain: CDC/ Janice Haney Carr, 2009

Though many organisms found in untreated waters are harmless, there are many that are pathogenic to both humans and animals, including Giardia spp., free-living amebae, and E. coli just to name a few. During power outages, the functionality of treated water systems can be negatively affected, thereby, violating the patency of these closed systems. In these instances, advisories may be posted, encouraging inhabitants of these regions to boil their water tap water in order to kill off any pathogenic organisms that may have entered the system due to an intrasystemic drop in positive pressure. Public Domain: CDC/ Janice Haney Carr, 2009

Son: “I get it, you like it. I’m going into finance. Post it on your page and I’ll come and see it.” Ok, I can’t argue with that logic. 

Daughter: “Mom, you are putting mold all over my FB page.”  – No, it isn’t mold, it is unidentified.

Wikimedia: Tobi Kellner, 10 February 2012.

Oyster mushroom (Pleurotus ostreatus) mycelium growing in a petri dish on coffee grounds.
Wikimedia: Tobi Kellner, 10 February 2012.

Daughter: “Mom, it is smeared and it is mold or germs.” –  Ok, this one is a fungus, not a mold, but it is a picture. Read it. It is a form of art.

So I will serve my time on “FB Probation” knowing that another developmental milestone is marked, a rite of passage in progress. Just because it looks different from when I was that age, doesn’t mean it isn’t happening, or isn’t there.

~~~

“Culture is the widening of the mind and of the spirit.”

 Jawaharlal Nehru (Indian Prime Minister, 1889-1964)

Categories: Challenges, Humor - I like irony, puns and dark side humor.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 replies

  1. lol…my kids are still too young to be on FB but I can imagine this happening to us – thanks for the laugh and awesome images! Have a blessed week!
    Regards,
    Mary

  2. Hahaha. Great post though I think some of my kids would think it was interesting. 🙂

  3. Oh, how I’d love to do micro photography!! But that requires some serious $$$. Alas. For now, I’ll have to enjoy other people’s work. Thanks for the link!

  4. wowwwww…. cool pics! got any more? (drooling with fascination at awesome macro pics of fungus art) Ahem. Excuse me. I got carried away. 😉

  5. Hahaha! I am not just restricted but not even my son’s FB friend! But my daughter and her friends are. Go figure.

    • Not uncommon – one particular child of mine, who shall remain unidentified, was extremely upset with the amount of people I was friended with by the time “child” developed FB account – that were in her social circle. So attempts to exclude, this child determined, were pointless.

      • Hahahaha, “who shall remain unidentified.” Yes, that’s so true. I love how some of my friends friend my son and yet I’m not “allowed” to friend him.

  6. OMG MY MOM USED TO DO THAT TO ME!!! She would take me on her arm and hold me in front of her electroscope photographs of cells and tell me over and over how beautiful science is… 😀 was before fb times, though. Having outgrown my teenage years now, I kind of appreciate her doing that, if that’s any comfort 🙂

    • Saaahrie, I am glad to have you visit my blog and share your experiences and thoughts. 🙂 (I will be reading more of your blog, also!) As I wrote the blog, it did occur to me that this was a normal developmental stage – so I put it in that category. Nonetheless, your words are encouraging. 🙂

  7. Neither of my teens are into social media. No Facebook, Twitter, anything. I’m grateful for that, but I have no doubt that if they were on these sites, I would be banned. Probably for posting the same types of things as you! Too funny. 🙂

    • My kids didn’t FB until my son left for college. I am probably the life-time offender of the family for using the internet and “connecting” starting before my son was born. It is like being in a vast library that never closes… (omg, I’m such a nerd. lol)

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly Photo Challenge: Culture | wholeyjeans

Thoughts, ideas, questions? - Love to know what is on your mind!

