Anne Squared

Life filtered through the lens of an INTJ, Mom, and healthcare professional.

FRIDAY FICTIONEERS– The Dig.

Image

Photo Copyright – Sarah Ann Hall

He noticed the green growth, she the tombstone structures, sentinels in a seemingly empty field.

When had the fence gone up?

Each visit necessitated moving further from the markers. They began to dig, silently. There was no need for words; this was not the first, the third, nor the fifth visit.

Her eyes welled with tears as memories lit her brain like a kaleidoscope.

He swore to himself this was the last time.

They struggled the bundle over the troublesome fence. Carefully wrapped in a blanket, washed soft and worn smooth…it thudded into the grave. She knew they would return.

Categories: INTJ and INTP

Tags: , , , , ,

30 replies

  1. Oh wow. I got the impression neither of them wants to be burying the bodies and went with the idea of babies/ children before I read the comments. Really like the mood in this. Well done.

  2. That’s very intriguing. I read and reread the story, looking for clues as to who/what they were burying. I was going with plague victims or stillborn babies, although from reading the comments, I’m going with pets.

    • Thanks for reading, David! I didn’t leave any clues, but I did let it slip in the comments. I hadn’t thought about the babies…

      And the plague victims – I’d put them in one big pit. Forget sneaking around with the a contagious epidemic. Though if we get a picture of a mining pit… 🙂 you’ve given me a great idea!

  3. Hi Anne! I wanted to pass on the Liebster Award to you…I love your blog! Pass the award along if you so please…instructions are in the post below from my blog:
    http://remingtonmoll.wordpress.com/2013/05/18/dude-i-totally-got-triple-liebstered-last-week/

    • OhMyGosh and Thank you for the award and loving my blog! This is as exciting as scientific peer-review publication! 🙂 Yippee!!

      Ha – the logistics. 🙂 Don’t suppose they are APA format 😉 Thanks again…

  4. I’m glad you thought pets… at one point I thought they were getting rid of their own children… *shudder*… after all it was a he and a she… Anyway welcome to a new addiction.

    • Thanks for the welcome, and for reading.

      Their own children? Hmmm…interesting take on it. I will admit I thought that too, but dismissed it early on. I had not yet read most of the writers… 😉

  5. I was thinking it must be a pet burial place too (though not like the creepy “pet cemetary” in Stephen King.)

    • Yeah, I let the cat out of the bag, so to speak… 😉
      The picture reminded me much more of a cemetery than anything else, or a couple of grave markers you will see in rural areas, fenced in a field.
      Thanks for reading!

  6. I’m not thinking serial killers. Perhaps burying pets that had passed on?

    • I have to admit that is where my mind is at – with our own still MIA. “The Fairy Godmother Disappeared (or I am Doomed!)” – not sure why the link won’t go in – but the longer she is gone, the more I worry about her.

      So your story made me laugh – That could be her…she is rather large and has a bit of an attitude. 🙂

  7. I like that you show some conflict about what they’re doing, although perhaps they aren’t killers, just those who have to bury people who have died (or relatives, children, ??) without others knowing those people have died. Who knows, as you left it nicely ambiguous.

    I think you want “lit”, rather than “alit” here: “memories alit her brain like a kaleidoscope”, as “alit” means to get down from something or to rest on something. 🙂

    janet

    • Thanks for the comments, Janet. You are correct about “lit”. I noticed that when I reread it this morning – I’m not my own best editor 😉

      I’m beginning to get intrigued by the interpretation of readers – alternate title: Written Rorschach Test. 🙂

      • So true. I’ve often written things that seem very obvious to me, but evidently are so plain to the readers. You also have to factor in the FF factor, which means you look for weird, terrible, and unexpected twists everywhere, even when there might not be any. 🙂

  8. Sad, and a bit creepy. Well written, darling.

  9. Yes, like Charcoalblue, I want to know more!

  10. Dear Anne,
    I have to wonder what or who is bundled in the blankets. Intriguing;
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    • Hi Rochelle,
      Thanks for sponsoring this challenge – my first “stretch” in this area.

      • Dear Anne,
        I thought I hadn’t seen you here before. In any case, welcome to Friday Fictioneers ;).
        shalom,
        Rochelle

        • Thank you. You have a group of very talented writers. Had I read essays in advance to writing and posting… I don’t know that I would have attempted this. I love to read and and wanted to major in literature, but ended up in the sciences.
          100 words of fiction – I love the concept. 🙂

  11. Hmmm, now I’m interested to know more.

  12. Serial killers with a conscience?

Thoughts, ideas, questions? - Love to know what is on your mind!

