Anne Squared

Life filtered through the lens of an INTJ, Mom, and healthcare professional.

Here She is, Miss America…kidding mom!

I was nicely surprised this morning (ok, the squeal woke my daughter up) to find a nomination for my first blogging award – Liebster Award! liebster

Remingtonmoll was kind enough to send the nomination my way. His simple explanation is as rewarding as the award: “Anne Squared – Anne is only one Myers-Briggs letter away from me so naturally I love her blog and personality.”  Music to an INTJ’s ears.

Remington’s blog is diverse. He was raised in Oklahoma and lives with his young family in Beirut, Lebanon. Overall blog topics cover science, theology, nature – just about everything – a very interesting man and writer. It was his announcement of his decision to try a “Stream Of Consciousness Saturdays” (just his thoughts, no edits) which caught my eye and my interest, and I then started following his blog. I don’t think I’ll mention that i have been fond of the name Remington – so much so, I named my first male golden retriever, Remington. Oh, the award!

The First Step for the Liebster Award is to tell 11 things about yourself:  

1. I love dark chocolate – the really expensive kind. I won’t eat cheap chocolate.

2. I hate my iphone – I miss my “droid.”

3. I do not like to have my picture taken.

4. I always buy black leather gloves – if I lose one, there is a 50% chance I will have a mate for it year one, and the odds only improve with each passing year.

5. I still haven’t figured out how to properly format my blog… keep digging around and you will find some treasures!

6. I love to read books, the old-fashioned paper ones. My house is overflowing.

7. I started playing the piano at age 3. My instructor was dismayed when I stopped lessons my sophomore year in high school. She thought I could be a concert pianist. She never knew that was how I earned my “allowance” – by the number of songs I would “pass” per week.

8. The money would have been better spent on horse riding lessons, but my mother thought one should have a talent should one ever get to the Miss America Pageant. That is so embarrassing to admit. (Refer to blog for dysfunction.)

9. The college I went to graded on a curve – a forced bell curve. For each A awarded, an F was given; for a B, a D; the majority had to be “C.” Yes, they did that. I still have the grade card explaining the grading system. No one cares. They don’t do that anymore.

10. I no longer have 2 teenagers; my son turned 20 this week, finals’ week. I now have a senior in college.

11. Remington was a favorite name because of Dennis Quaid in “The Big Easy.” Yes, that ages me a bit – but Remy, he’s still got it. Even my daughter, she fell for Remy and the movie in a big way! (Okay, so I cannot type cajun…)

Image

Dennis Quaid. Photo: PH2 Mark Cavanugh (US Navy) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

The Second Step for the Liebster Award is to answer the 11 questions asked by the nominating blogger.  Painless, right?

1. What’s one of the best compliments you’ve ever received?

“You are the meanest mom in the entire world!”  (Yes!)

2. If you had to get a tattoo on your face, what would it be and where?

I would consider “DNR” (Do Not Resuscitate) but I don’t think anyone would look at my face for a tattoo as they intubated me – I’d put that in BIG LETTERS on my upper chest, right below the clavicles. (Click on the picture below.) I found hundreds of pictures of people who have done this – but THEN I also came across a medio-legal debate regarding whether this would be honored. Fine. Put a tiny shamrock on my nose. Or a leprechaun pretending to pick it. Clavicle_-_animation

3. Where are you right now?

….at the computer…?!?

4. Are you closer to your mom or your dad? Explain if you want.

They are both, thankfully, still alive. Blog addresses familial issues. First degree in psych. Enough said. 😉

5. How many hours a week do you spend blogging?

I have no idea. Sometimes I think about ideas and write – and they never make it to the blog. Maybe four or five – unless there is a topic I need to research. Unless I spend the day following different research trails and items of interest, then it takes me 12 hours to write what should only take an hour. Haven’t a clue.

6. What is one of your favorite quotes?

My favorite quotes are on the blog.  One not on the blog – graffiti from a bar that I read when I was 14 or so –  and I still like the “lilt” to it: “I’d rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy.”

7. Have you read the bible? If so, what’s your least favorite part?

Yes. I have read the Bible. I also studied it for 4 years of required credits to earn a degree from a Catholic college. My least favorite part?  – When it spontaneously bursts into flames every time I picked it up. Ouch! 

8. Would you want to be a full-time writer if you could?

I only have one or two stories I need to tell. No – I would miss my work. Unless I could write about scientific stuff all day, which is kind of what I do after I research and analyze it. 🙂

9. When was the last time you watched Home Alone (the original)?

I haven’t seen that movie.

10. Do you have any friends of Middle-Eastern descent?

Yes. And I have friends who live in the Middle East. All over the world, for that matter.

11. Describe yourself in four words. Only four. Don’t cheat. I know where you blog.

Tenacious. Analytical. Blunt. Prepared.

The Third Step for the Liebster Award is to nominate 11 bloggers with relatively few (less than 200) followers.

charcoalblue – very creative, artistic, analytical, funny, sensitive artist. And mom. 😉

Walk the Wolf –  I am awed by his art – and mesmerized by one special picture! But they are all wonderful.

suletta – The Zanzibar dairy farm story. Live life at a different pace – a wonderful window has been opened to us. 

braininjuryselfrehabilitation – “Laughter as brain injury medicine … you don’t understand”. This is one of the most comprehensive  compassionate, professional, personal sites I have ever seen. The woman who runs this has an incredible amount of knowledge and resources available for traumatic brain injuries. She was my 50th subscriber and inspired me to write the blog about the KC Chief’s murder/suicide this past season.  (I never got to the point to thank her for that. Ironically, my first subscriber is a public health professional, also – it just seemed fitting.) Please read her story.

danloney – Take a look at Dan’s writing. He is an INTJ in learning/transition mode. He can be very intense. Dan, if you opt out of this award, please pass it on to someone else. The goal is to increase your readership.

white girl in a sari – A wonderful blog written by a young woman from “down under” who fell in love with a man from Nepal. I started following her blog not only because of my love for other cultures, but 1/3 of my family is from Nepal. I lived there for awhile. I enjoy reading the stories of someone else that has to live within the family and cultural confines…but it sounds as though some things are changing. Namaste. 

Alyce Vayle Author  – self-described writer.lover.mover.shaker. I like her style!

Beyond two worlds – “The name of my blog, beyond two worlds, represents how I feel as a transracial adoptee- born of one culture, yet raised in another and trying to connect the two.”  Unless you have been part of an international/intercultural adoption, you do not realize that your family unit  becomes another “culture.” But it is one that is shared with many other families – not on all levels but there is a “common uniqueness.”  This insightful and well written blog gives you a warm welcome into a culture – ( sub-sub-culture?)- you may not have been aware of.

Chronicles of My Imagination …confessions of a compulsive daydreamer. An awesome variety of things! (And she was the first one to guess what was in my grave – and her yard had the most awesome surprise!)

The Fourth Step for the Liebster Award is to ask your nominees 11 questions.

  1. Is there a population solution that you favor in particular? (Just kidding.) How many siblings do you have?
  2. Who is your favorite artist?
  3. Do you prefer dogs or cats?
  4. Do you have a recurring dream? Good or bad?
  5. What is your opinion about the flying monkeys in “The Wizard of Oz”?
  6. How many states and/or countries have you had a driver’s license in?
  7. Would you rather survive a pandemic that killed 99.4% of the population, or be among the 99.4%? (That is the scenario in “The Stand”, by Stephan King.)
  8. Did you know that HIV/AIDS is no longer classified as a “sexually transmitted disease” (STD)?
  9. – 11.  You are at an estate sale that is selling work by Rembrandt, Picasso, Monet and other renowned artists. A local woman is running the sale to keep the prices lower to the buyer but give the estate more return on the items. (Her entry into the market.) The deceased, an eclectic collector of beauty, has an incredible collection of work. You are offered the following: 5 exquisite, but unsigned watercolors on textured paper. The provenance is gone. The dearly departed hired people to come into his home to search for the documents – but nothing was ever found. Given the collection of items that is being sold, and the 5 unsigned watercolors look simple, but unique, would you be willing to pay $250.00 for the set of them? 

Categories: Humor - I like irony, puns and dark side humor.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 replies

  1. I love your response! Thanks for taking the time to answer and pass along. Your glove strategy is quite thoughtful. Now I’m off to find your quotes page! 🙂

  2. forgot to mention, jealous of you piano talent!!!

  3. This is very good, kind of like like you had been preparing for this for years 🙂 Thank you Anne. I would describe you as talented, funny, honest and yes… prepared.

    • You are too kind, Joe.
      (My daughter offered up another “b-word” for blunt, but it IS my award!) Neither tiara nor halo will sit upon my head…
      But my royal crown? Yes. 🙂

  4. Haha, great questions!

  5. Enjoyed remembering why I think you are so great.

  6. Yes thank you! Made my day.

  7. Thank you so much for the nomination, Anne.!

Thoughts, ideas, questions? - Love to know what is on your mind!

