Anne Squared

Life filtered through the lens of an INTJ, Mom, and healthcare professional.

Trifextra: Week Seventy-Four – “Sweet and Sour Power”

photo (8)

This week’s challenge is a bit different. We are asked to develop our own interpretation of the following, with the same structure – huh. Not what I expected.

Three things in human life are important. The first is to be kind. The second is to be kind. And the third is to be kind.
–Henry James

But, as I think about it, life has been like that recently – full of twists and turns, some good, and some…downright, well, not good. Really sucky. Is that a word?

So here is my submission for the week, with the acknowledgement that I have taken artistic liberty with the format – but it will hopefully make sense to the readers.

Life will not always be sweet and full of flatteries;

So heed this advice, apply thrice:  

Should life give you lemons, make batteries.

Public Domain: en.wikipedia.org

Please enjoy the great work of other writers via this link, or join in the fun:

http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/2013/06/trifextra-week-seventy-four.html

Categories: Trifecta

Tags: , , , , , ,

33 replies

  1. I’m a middle school teacher…sucky is definitely a word. Love your poem. 🙂

    • Glad you enjoyed the rerun 🙂 and thanks for confirming that I didn’t make up that word.

      Kudos to you for teaching! One of the best professions that has the greatest impact on lives…thank you!

  2. Oh, thank goodness it wasn’t lemonade…I’m tired of lemonade. Now, batteries? I can use those!

  3. Batteries will definitely help you get through the darkness better than lemonade, and once you’re on the other side you can probably still make up a glass! Love your response to the prompt.

  4. You managed to throw in some rhymes and turn a phrase on its head. Well done! Thank you for linking up!

  5. That is far more exciting than a potato battery (: I like it!

  6. I love this – brilliant 😄

  7. life has a way of handing us many lemons – making batteries is a unique way of handling them 🙂

  8. Awesome interpretation of the prompt! Batteries are so much more practical than lemonade.

  9. Love the picture! What a great way to keep a positive attitude, regardless of the situation.

  10. Nice twist-take on the prompt. Batteries from lemons… strength from woe… well done.

  11. “Make batteries” made me giggle. You get extra points for rhyming!

  12. I like your format. I, also, like the attitude of your message, too. Well done.

    • Thanks, Cobbie! I am glad to have your visit and feedback. I am never quite sure when I get a spark of “creativity” – 2 or 3 times a decade – how it will be perceived. … cuz it scares the heck out of me!

  13. I like the way you bent the rules on this….and “make batteries” was an unexpected surprise!

  14. haha, i like your take on the prompt and the ol’sayin’!

Thoughts, ideas, questions? - Love to know what is on your mind!

