Anne Squared

Life filtered through the lens of an INTJ, Mom, and healthcare professional.

RAGBRAI – 15 Days … Are You Ready??

Upper Iowa University's Team Peacock rides RAGBRAI to raise money for student scholarships. Author=SheilaJMiller. Wikimedia.

Upper Iowa University’s Team Peacock rides RAGBRAI to raise money for student scholarships. Author=SheilaJMiller. Wikimedia.

RAIGRAI is an acronym for Register’s (Des Moines, Iowa daily newspaper) Annual Great Bike Ride Across Iowa.  It is a 7 day bike ride covering over 400 miles from the western border of Iowa to the eastern border. The first ride in 1973 was a “non-event” http://ragbrai.com/about/ragbrai-history/ compared to the international festival that occurs annually for bicyclists and Iowans.

This year is the RAGBRAI XLI – July 21-27, 2013.  I hope to bring you some “coverage” via some of WordPress bloggers who are riding, AND a “first” for RAGBRAI – a runner, 27-year-old Richard Kresser. I will try to link his blog in – if not, I will post his link and more information in future posts.

I enjoy cycling, but am not an enthusiast for this type of event – go figure – INTJ. But I did plunge into RAGBRAI several years ago for the opportunity to practice within my profession. My trip to RAGBRAI provided the opportunities to conduct original research,  spend some time with my son (who helped with the research), meet up with my maid of honor – an avid cyclist (and my son’s Godmother),  see rural Iowa, and enjoy experiences I would never have otherwise.

RAGBRAI Sign

For the other +20,000 people,  it was “RAGBRAI”. For me, it was “original research” and a mini-vacation.

I follow RAGBRAI annually knowing that the research we did made a difference. This year I found a couple of interesting people I plan to follow, and invite you to join with me to cheer them on, enjoy the journey and learn a bit about Iowa.

CLINTON, Iowa Public Domain (Photo credit: Wikipedia) USAF

CLINTON, Iowa. Public Domain, USAF (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Here is a link to the official RAGBRAI site:  http://ragbrai.com/

“RAGBRAI, or the Register’s Annual Great Bike Ride Across Iowa, is an annual seven-day bicycle ride across the state. Heading into its 41st year, RAGBRAI is the oldest, largest and longest bicycle touring event in the world.”
– www.ragbrai.com

Noteworthy Events and Blogs:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Categories: Public Health, RAGBRAI

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Thoughts, ideas, questions? - Love to know what is on your mind!

