Anne Squared

Life filtered through the lens of an INTJ, Mom, and healthcare professional.

20 Quotes from Sylvia Plath

Excellent collection of pictures and quotes..

The Belle Jar

1. “Can you understand? Someone, somewhere, can you understand me a little, love me a little? For all my despair, for all my ideals, for all that – I love life. But it is hard, and I have so much – so very much to learn.”

The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath

2. “God, but life is loneliness, despite all the opiates, despite the shrill tinsel gaiety of ‘parties’ with no purpose, despite the false grinning faces we all wear. And when at last you find someone to whom you feel you can pour out your soul, you stop in shock at the words you utter – they are so rusty, so ugly, so meaningless and feeble from being kept in the small cramped dark inside you so long. Yes, there is joy, fulfillment and companionship – but the loneliness of the soul in its appalling self-consciousness is horrible and…

View original post 768 more words

Categories: INTJ and INTP

5 replies

  1. Gah! It’s like reading varying degrees of myself. There’s claim Sylvia was either an INFP or INFJ, no? I would not wish the worst of my days on even the least liked person I know, but gosh I love the wandering depths of the INxx.

    • Too many of the quotes resonated with me, also (all of them?) – you put it into words, though. I have not studied her, only some of her work years ago.

      I am beginning to think my “F” is trying to open the compartment that it was stuffed into years ago…and “T” is trying very hard to keep that compartment closed.

      • When my INTJs are baffled by my emotions & begin to retreat to a somewhat egotistical logic-surpasses-all stance, I describe the T and F functions like so: T is brain and F is heart. Everyone has them. Everyone has a tendency to use one over the other. True masters of their minds know the weaknesses & take the time to strengthen it.

        It’s easy to rely on our strengths, but it doesn’t always make us happy campers. Just look as Sylvia Plath who took her F to the unhealthy extreme.

        I think letting your F out every now and then is pretty healthy. I promise not to tell 😉

        • 🙂 I think F is hiding for a reason…
          I have no problem “flexing” for a purpose, ie, to meet the needs of my children, working with a client, mentoring, etc., – F can come out and play… – then back it goes…

          I look at the MBTI as our “default” – where we go in times of stress or without thought. The other ” letter” is only the other side of the continuum – not the opposite –

          But then it gets very confusing to try to interpret the relevance of the J/P, if you deviate from the developed MBTI theory – and follow one of the off-shoot theories based on the original work that is very prevalent on the www.

          This is why I stay in my own lane – lol – though I might swerve into your’s occasionally 🙂

        • I completely agree. Thank you for stating it in more comprehensive terms. I was in total INFP mode last night. 🙂

Thoughts, ideas, questions? - Love to know what is on your mind!

