Anne Squared

Life filtered through the lens of an INTJ, Mom, and healthcare professional.

Friday Fictioneers

Friday Fictioneers – A weekly challenge to write a 100 word story in response to a pictorial prompt.

Image

Photo Prompt. Copyright: Douglas M. Macllroy

Coveted Coven’s conventions convened with each new moon. Candlelight let members avoid hazards, save one wicked Wiccan who tripped on a cord.

MaryPat slapped a hand over Teresa’s mouth to stop The Reverse-Saturation Incantation Teresa hurled in AnnMarie’s direction. “…and ‘witch to battery, ‘tupid!” did no damage, other than fling a little spittle, dowsing a couple candles.

Teresa was a “purist” – the Elders bemoaned lost rituals, the candles a bow to tradition. The Coveted Coven voted to utilize the computer technology: it enhanced and accelerated spells.

The boater on the monitor would realize their intention in minutes vs weeks.

100 words

 

 

Categories: Challenges

Tags: , , , , , ,

19 replies

  1. Nothing like technology to get those spells taken care of in record time. Great take on the prompt.

  2. Anne, That was a clever, humorous, and well-written story. Using the latest technology was obviously better for this group. Enjoyable. πŸ™‚ —Susan

  3. Dear Annesquared: Funny and fun! I liked the repetition of Coveted Coven’s conventions convened with each new moon. Wow! I bet you were getting goofy writing this – so clever and I’ll say it again, FUN. Nan πŸ™‚

  4. A fun story, I enjoyed the alliteration in the first line. I think there must be a tongue twister in there about Coveted Coven’s conventions, especially if they were held in a covered cavern. OK, I’ll stop now πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I like your suggestion of the covered cavern, but I couldn’t work the PC cord in… too few words. It was fun to write, and rewrite…I was getting a bit goofy with it πŸ˜‰

  5. I’d love to read the minutes of that meeting. Such fun.

  6. Clever and very well rendered!
    Greetings from Greece!
    Maria (MM Jaye)

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it. I was going to try to respond with a greek phrase or two, but your letters are too different – and who knows what I would end up saying! I love knowing and meeting our international community.

  7. Dear Anne,

    Quite a story. Ah technology vs technique. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  8. Dear Anne,

    Cleverly concocted, wittily written, well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  9. Love your story. Writing a story in 100 words or less sounds incredibly challenging. I found this this story funny and slightly ominous. Nice job! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! It is challenging but fun. Have you tried it?
      I’m pleased the story translated well for you, the reader. Intent was as you described πŸ™‚

      • No, I haven’t but it sounds interesting. I’ve just introduced flash fiction to my creative writing students and they are absolutely loving it. I require their flash fiction stories to be 300-800 words long. Perhaps we’ll try this next…and so will I!!

Thoughts, ideas, questions? - Love to know what is on your mind!

