Anne Squared

Life filtered through the lens of an INTJ, Mom, and healthcare professional.

First Confession

First Confession of a Seven-Year Old

“Bless me father for I have sinned. I touched a man where I shouldn’t.”

“Who?”

“He said I’d burn in hell if…”

“Who!!”

“Father Hetterman.”

“Say 5 ‘Hail Mary’s” and tell no one.”

~~~

33 words


The Trifextra challenge this weekend is a thirty-three word confession, fiction or non-fiction.

A click on the symbol will take you to rules and links to other authors.
 

Categories: Lions, Tigers and Catholics, Oh my.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

34 replies

  1. Perfect!

    If not here, where? People need to be upset/repulsed by what’s described (and not described) in your 33 words.

    From one survivor to another – well said!

    Semper viligans

    • Ah, my teen girl has had me distracted.

      Thank you for reading and your kind words. I cannot bear the responsibility for what someone did to you, but I welcome your companionship as a survivor. I think I will have to address this topic again, considering the response on only 33 words. Join me?

  2. Well written. (RogRites)

  3. Excellent writing on a topic that stays in the confessional way to much.

    • Thank you for your comment, MoS!

      I have trouble getting my head around “excellent writing” in 33 words… but that doesn’t diminish my appreciation for you taking the time to read and comment 😐

  4. Not a catholic, bur from Boston. So.
    Nicely put in 33.

  5. Yikes…terrible imagery comes to mind. Great story, though.

  6. Well written! I guess it was the first confession after the first communion and before the first resignation…

  7. Wow. Thanks for linking up with this sensitive and important issue. It’s horrifying whenever a child is victimized. To demand she/he carry the shame of that victimization alone is just inexcusable.

    • Thank you for the “Thanks.” I agree it is very important – I’m new to this writing genre and am thinking this may not have been the most appropriate subject? I don’t know. It is one the evokes strong feelings – I obviously have more to say than 33 words worth – am I know many are simply repulsed by the topic.

      On the other hand, I have a tendency to obsess over and edit what I write to the point that I get it in right at deadline (for work.) So my rules for my blog are to pick a topic, stay with it and do not obsess over the finer points of semantics, etc. – it permits me the freedom to write and post. (I will correct obvious mistakes after published, but won’t obsess for days making sure things are in the proper tense, etc.)

      This confession was the first that popped into my head – I am a very literal thinker. You asked for a “confession” – and my lens is that of an adult who was raised in a large Catholic family.

      But I can also be extremely creative – I look forward to these writing challenges since everything I write is based on fact, research, science. zzzz 😉

  8. Yeah, I’m not a fan of the church’s handling of these sorts of situations.

    Powerful piece. Well done.

    • Thanks for considering this a “powerful piece. That means a lot hearing it from the people who read my work, especially from those who have been writing far longer than I have been.

      I only had 33 words. I am not a 33 word person… so I will add a bit more –

      No, I do not agree with the Catholic Church’s handling of many issues related to abuse situations, but I do not believe the Catholic church is the only institution, religious or secular, that sexually assaults children of both sexes, men and women – or those in a “powerless” situation, and then conspire(d) to hide the truth – through intimidation, bribery, ignoring, silence, (code of) silence – whatever their term “du jour” or legalize, hidden in their policy manual.

      I am aware of an incident, not too long ago, a Christian – not Catholic – (large) church, where a young(ish) female minister, on a mission trip involved herself with a married older professional man – who was on the trip because of a crisis in faith, with the full support of his wife and family. Though he is an older, well educated man, technically old enough to be her father (almost) she was the one in a power position – not he. (She was aware of his reason for being on the trip.) She abused her power – on many levels – and nearly destroyed several families in the process. I am leaving out many details about how she used her position to gather information and manipulate the situation – but she did not “minister” in the sense of a representative of her church or her faith. No child was abused (tho children in the families were impacted) but this man was victimized. I pointed this out to the wife, supported her in meeting with the big cheese of the church and was adamant about what happened. While he was initially dismissive, and my friend was a nervous wreck, I outlined the information point by point – and he admitted that there was a big problem. (Seems she came back and said he hit on her, so if he heard anything, ignore it because she took care of it by praying with him. What she did was come back and tell her husband she wanted a divorce to be with the new guy.)

      So, it is just not the kids, it is just not the Catholics. Sports, clubs, groupings, fraternal organizations, scouts…

      Sorry for the long response – I get on my soap box – I guess I consider this a semi- public health issue. That is at least my story, and I am sticking by it. (I am allow myself a soap box in that arena 😉

      Please feel free to add more comments …

  9. you just touched me where someone shouldn’t – my angry button. It is so infuriating to think that adults take advantage of children and then other adults can’t be trusted to deal with the issue – which we’ve seen in religion, sports, schools, homes, etc….

    • I used 33 words to write a fiction or non-fiction scenario. ONLY 33 words. So –

      Dear HumanTriumphant – I feel as though I should apologize for “touching” you where someone shouldn’t – but I cannot. I will ask that the anger please be directed for the benefit of those who are victimized; by those in positions of power, in whatever manner you chose to direct your efforts, if you are not already involved in an active manner. You do not need to explain.

      I agree, and share your anger and frustration when I know that people do not step forward to advocate for those who cannot advocate for themselves. What is worse, imo, is the intimidation and coercion that takes place to silence the victims.

      Thank you for reading and your comments.

  10. Well said and done.

  11. This is a problem that plaques all religious and institutions that serve children and adults. The devil can quote the bible for his own ends. My Baptist roots are showing. The pity is the children irrevocably harmed and the priest who took sincere vows sullied by their insincere peers.
    You really packed much into 33 words. Bravo.

  12. 33 words that speak volumes.

  13. Yikes! This probably happens more than we know.

    I’m not Catholic, so the concept of confession is foreign to me. (I was raised Southern Baptist, so our guilt came by way of Hell and Eternal Damnation :))

    • Thanks for popping in, Janna! As this “cradle Catholic” recalls, we have plenty of “Hell and Eternal Damnation” in the Catholicism, also. But…you could go to confession (a holy sacrament, like baptism, marriage,- think there are 7) and if you made a “good and sincere” confession and received absolution from the priest and did penance (ie, the prayers, or whatever he told you to do) your sins were forgiven and the “Hell and E.D” were lifted until the next round of sinning.

      I know there were 2 levels of sins – but they are not coming to mind right away – call them major and minor – the “I sassed my mother” vs “murder” type of sins.

      Oh my gosh – talk about confusing!!! And for a child, who is barely at the “point of reason” as the church defines it – to announce abuse, to have it left in her lap as “her sin” and not be helped. Yes. It happens much more than has been made public, or addressed by the Catholic church – or other churches, I would venture to say.

      • Thanks for the additional information. I didn’t know about the levels of sin (silly me, I thought sin was all equally bad!) My husband’s family is Catholic and I went to one ceremony (Confirmation, perhaps…I think the boy was nine at the time.) I saw about ten minutes of it before I had to take the kids outside. Sitting still and quiet is not their strong suit 🙂

  14. I see we went to the same spot . . . and, Pat? Hubby says I still have plenty of catholic school girl guilt. :/

    • Thanks for reading and commenting, Barbara. I’ve not been Catholic for more of my life than I was Catholic, but the influence was so strong – well, you can see how my blog is subtitled. I empathize with you on the “csgg” issue…

  15. We Lutherans don’t confess, we just bear the shame and guilt forever

Thoughts, ideas, questions? - Love to know what is on your mind!

