Anne Squared

Life filtered through the lens of an INTJ, Mom, and healthcare professional.

How Does an INTJ Think? A Peek into Our Minds…

Deutsch: Düne beim Dead vlei, Namibia. Françai...

Deutsch: Düne beim Dead vlei, Namibia. Français : Une dune dans le Dead vlei, en Namibie. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

  • INTJ’s welcome input – criticism isn’t taken personally since they are striving to improve the process. They are open to changing their opinion.
  • Do not let their aloof demeanor put you off – they are generally so wrapped up in working through ideas and concepts, the appearance of being inapproachable is deceiving.
  • Be concise and to the point. Repetition and insignificant details will cause the INTJ to lose interest.
  • If an INTJ picks apart your ideas, you have their interest and attention. They are trying to improve the process. It is a compliment, even though it may not feel like one. (An INTJ welcomes this type of input, keep that in mind.)

In a nutshell, don’t hesitate to approach an INTJ if you have a suggestion to improve the process. That is what we want to know, to hear about. If it is a good idea, we will welcome the suggestion. Because we are always looking for a better way to do things and don’t mind input, we gladly give feedback if asked. So if you don’t want an honest opinion, don’t ask an INTJ for one. You won’t get a sugar-coated answer. And forget the rhetorical questions – we’ll answer them for you if you ask them.

About a year ago, a new acquaintance sent me a copy of his proposal for his MBA project, and asked what I thought of it. Silly me, I thought he wanted my opinion, not his ego stroked – so I gave him the benefit of my knowledge from graduate school, years of writing successful proposals, and management. Nope. He wanted to hear that it was great. He is still trying to “one up” me and I want no contact with this person.

Had I no knowledge on the subject, I would have told him that. But he asked for my opinion…

Please keep in mind – an INTJ knows what they know, and they know what they don’t know.

(But imo, what they don’t know, they can generally learn very quickly.)

Links to INTJ articles:

Categories: INTJ and INTP

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

22 replies

  1. Thanks for posting this. According to the simplified online tests, I am an INTJ, too. I’m wondering if other INTJs, even if they recognize themselves in the INTJ description, are sceptical of the whole MBTI. Humans like to categorize things and MBTI is very convenient. Perhaps we search for things in the type description that could apply to us to confirm that we are this or that type, and after having read it, subconciously try to adapt to the description…

    • I’ve considered that possibility, however, having taken the formal test in 2 different settings I have to agree with the outcome. I’ve learned, however, that some traits do not translate well on other testing and I’ve had to get the administrator to review MBTI data/results.
      Thanks for your comments and for reading… I’ve been without a computer for months~

  2. Need to share a finding (Major or Minor.. Cant decide) · · · – – – · · ·

  3. So glad it’s not just me! Great post for another INTJ to read and realise that we’re not totally mad!

    • Pop in anytime, please 🙂
      Huh, never considered the “mad” aspect. A bit on the “outside the majority” of the population, but perfectly normal for us 🙂
      I find spending time with other INTJ’s to be very energizing! (Normal is soooo over-rated.)

  4. I was wondering, what kind of adventure it would be to explain your ideas to someone, when you know its of no use, they will not get it until its diluted to the limit where you will loose interest in the idea.
    Have you faced anything like this.
    Thanks,…

    • Ah, yes, I have done this. It depends upon what is involved – what will happen if I DON’T follow through with what I know is the right action?
      If there is minimal consequence, I don’t waste my time.
      If there is a significant impact – to the company, society, etc., then I continue to state my case, to them verbally, in writing. Copy their boss. Discuss it with anyone that will listen. Ultimately, best case, the change is made. Lives can be saved and millions of dollars, also.
      I would be glad to discuss a specific circumstance privately, if you like.

  5. For all my INTJ-ness, I can still be sensitive taking criticism, though I’m much better than I used to be. But that aloofness? It took me a long time to figure out that that’s the perception people can have of me. But really, I’m the opposite. I guess I’m just so deep in thought, that I come off that way. Certainly not my intention!

    • I understand about the criticism issue. Having said that, I can distinguish now when someone is criticizing ME vs trying to improve the process. (ie, the supervisor highlights 2 typos in a memo, and copies the entire group on it. That is personal and does not accomplish anything – except make me lose respect for her as a competent supervisor.) The revelation of coming off as “aloof” came from the class I took.
      I have been fortunate enough to work most of my career out of my home, and then on a 1:1 basis with my reps. Large meetings were 3-4 days and I could decompress at night or plan ahead…
      I actually work quite well with people (was a counselor for many years) and in sales/management. My downfall, is believing that everyone wants to improve the process and see the best possible outcome. Needless to say, my niche is not in a governmental (or private sector) position where mediocrity is an acceptable goal.

  6. PS love the new format, snazzy!

  7. great insight into this type. I like to pick apart ideas and analyze to bits, but my feeling mode is front and center 🙂

  8. Great …… or should I thank first… Don’t care… You got the point 😀
    Anyways any plan on expanding it to a series, something on how we should improve our interactions with others? How we can work on the differences and understand the others point of view ?….Because You said this to the point “what they don’t know, they can generally learn very quickly” whats your say?

    • https://annesquared.wordpress.com/2013/04/06/what-is-intj-or-where-does-intj-come-from/ links to another article I wrote encouraging people with an interest as in-depth as yours to consider working with a trained professional or taking a class. (There is a link in the blog I am referring you to which can assist with that process.)
      I am not trained to administer nor interpret the MBTI (nor will you find the MBTI online for free.)

      Yes, most definitely – we can work to recognize other types and “flex” our behavior to accommodate. The medical school I attended for my master’s degree provided this training for all the professors – the person in the position of authority should “flex” to the other person. I took a leadership course utilizing the MBTI results and found it to be very beneficial.

      Could you please clarify what you are asking in your last sentence?
      Thanks!

Thoughts, ideas, questions? - Love to know what is on your mind!

